Events

West Virginia v EPA: What does it mean for the US NDC?

9.15-10.15 EST, 14.15-15.15 BST, 15.15-16.15 CEST

Share
West Virginia v EPA Facade of US Supreme court in Washington DC on sunny day. Photo by steheap on Adobe Photo Stock.
West Virginia v EPA Facade of US Supreme court in Washington DC on sunny day. Photo by steheap on Adobe Photo Stock.
1 Jul 2022 Zoom webinar

Watch the recording

This event covered the Supreme Court’s ruling in the West Virginia v EPA case, and its implications for the US Nationally Determined Contribution (NDC) under the Paris Agreement.

The case of West Virginia v EPA (Environmental Protection Agency) impacts the EPA’s power to regulate greenhouse gas emissions under the Clean Air Act. In turn, this will affect US climate and energy policy, and openings for continued US domestic climate action as well as the credibility and effectiveness of US international efforts.  

Experts unpacked the Court’s ruling and its broader impacts. After setting out what the decision means and what actions will still be possible, they discussed the implications for the US NDC – long-term climate commitments made to reach the goals of the 2015 Paris Agreement. Speakers presented the levers still available to President Biden’s administration in pursuit of those goals. 

Introduction

Background, context, and the decision 

  • Andres Restrepo, Senior Attorney, Sierra Club

Implications for US climate and energy policy and the US NDC 

  • Rachel Cleetus, Policy Director, Climate and Energy Program, Union of Concerned Scientists

Openings for continued US domestic climate action, including at EPA

  • Mike Gerrard, Founder and Faculty Director, Sabin Center for Climate Change Law, Columbia University

Q&A 

Related

Subscribe to our newsletter